Share to the world

If you want to delete your Facebook account permanently, we will show you how you can do it easily. Although Facebook is a great way to stay connected with your friends and family. But sometimes, It affects your private or professional life by sending unnecessary notifications and ads.

As they say, Without privacy there was no point in being an individual

Top Reasons to Delete Facebook Account

There could be any reason to delete a Facebook account such as

  • After the Cambridge Analytica Scandal in which Cambridge University researchers collected users data earlier this month from Facebook. It makes sense to remove an account to keep your privacy protected.
  • If you fear that your password or other private pieces of information (photos, videos, chats, etc.) might be shared with any unauthorized person. Although Facebook offers safety features like photo guard etc. but they are not that safe, for some obvious reasons.
  • If you are just addicted to Facebook and wasting more time liking and scrolling through people’s photo, you barely know.
  • If people tag you in the posts which have nothing to do with you and Facebook keeps sending you unnecessary notifications. That’s really annoying for sure, are you cool with that?
  • Or you just don’t want to use Facebook ever again in your life

5 Things to do Before Deleting Facebook Account

So, now, since you have decided to delete your facebook account, there are some key points you should keep in your mind before proceeding.

  • Once your account is deleted, you won’t be able to reactivate it or recover anything you’ve ever posted
  • Before deleting your account, make sure you download a copy of your info from Facebook. In this article, we will also tell you, how you can download that copy of your info
  • When you delete your account, people won’t be able to access your profile, things you shared, photos/ videos you uploaded, etc.
  • It may take upto 90 days to delete all your photos, videos, status updates and other data stored in the Facebook database.
  • Even if you delete your account, your friends can still access your conversation, that part remains undeleted.

How to Delete My Facebook Account?

After following all the above-mentioned vital points and precautions, you are all set to delete your account. Now, follow these simple steps:

  1. First of all,  log in to your Facebook account or click here
  2. From the top right of the Facebook page, click on “Drop Down Menu.”
    delete facebook account step by step
  3. From the drop-down menu, select “Settings
    delete facebook account settings
  4. On the redirected page, select “General” from the left side of Facebook
    delete facebook account general setting
  5. Now, click “Manage Account.”
    delete facebook account general settings option
  6. Now, click “Request Account Deletion.”
    facebook request account deletion
    You are done here! A process to delete your account will start, and as we mentioned, it will take upto 90 days for complete deletion.

How to Download My Information Before Deleting Facebook Account?

Before deleting your account permanently, you can download all your information including your account related data, chats and messages, activity log, etc. Now, to download your info follow these steps:

  1. First of all, go to “Drop Down Menu” and select “Settings
    delete facebook account step by step
  2. At the bottom of “General Account Setting,” you will find “Download a copy of your Facebook data” click on that
    download copy of facebook account before deleting
  3. On the next page, click “Start My Archive.”
    delete facebook account save my archive settings

After that, your information will start to download. The process may take several minutes to complete.

What Pieces of Info do I find on My Facebook Data?

When you download your Facebook data, there are following categories of info available to you:

  • About Me: Information you added to “About” section (relationship status, work, education, hometown, date of birth, etc.)
  • Account Status History: The dates and timings when you deactivated, reactivated, disabled or deleted your account
  • Active Sessions: When you logged in to your account, dates and schedules, devices used (mobile phone, tablet or computer), IP address, cookies and browser history
  • Ad topics and clicks: Dates, timings, and title of the ads
  • Alternative Name: A maiden name, pet names or nicknames you added
  • Apps: All the apps you used
  • Chat: Conversations history directly from your inbox
  • Deleted and blocked friends: Friends you removed from your account or blocked
  • Events: Joined and invited events
  • Family: Friends you added as your family member
  • Friend Requests: Pending, sent or received friend requests
  • Friends: A full list of your friends
  • Post Likes: Posts or pages or websites you liked, your posts liked by others
  • Media files: Photos and videos your shared, live events and others
  • Pages you admin: All the pages you created
  • Pokes: Who’ve poked and who’s poked by you
  • Searches: Every search you made on Facebook
  • Registration Date: The date you joined Facebook, etc.

What is the Difference Between Deactivation and Deletion?

You should know the difference between deactivating and deleting an account. The right piece of information can help you to make the right decision

Deactivate My Account

  • If you want to get rid of Facebook for any small period, you can choose deactivation instead of deletion.
  • If you deactivate your account, you can reactivate it whenever you want.
  • After deactivation, people can’t access your profile, things you shared, your timeline. They even can’t search for you.
  • Even your account is deactivated but they can still go through your conversation with them, but they can’t reply.

Delete My Account

  • Once you delete your account, you can’t recover it or can’t regain access
  • You have to request to delete your account while deleting an account takes upto 90 days. In this period if you log back into your account, your request will automatically be terminated.
  • After making a request, people can’t access your profile, your timeline, etc. But they still have access to your messages even after deletion of your account
  • However, your log records (login dates and timings, IP addresses, devices used, etc.) may remain in Facebook database entirely safe and sound, company claims

How to Deactivate My Facebook Account?

If you want to put your Facebook activities on hold, you can just deactivate your account. Deactivating disables your account for a temporary period. You can reactivate it later whenever you want by simply logging back into Facebook. The reactivation will completely restore your profile and activities. Now, follow these simple steps:

  1. First of all, login to your Facebook account or click here
  2. Now, go to “Drop Down Menu” and select “Settings.”
    delete facebook account settings
  3. Go to “General” settings
    delete facebook account general setting
  4. At the bottom of this page, you will find “Deactivate your account” option, click on that
    how to delete and deactivate facebook account

Confirm the “Deactivation” procedure or cancel it if change your mind. To reactivate it, simply login using any device from anywhere.

Let us know if you find this article informative. You can share your views in the comment section below.