If for some reason, you don’t want to keep your Snapchat account, its always better to delete it. Otherwise, you can temporarily disable your Snapchat for a few days. There can be multiple reasons to delete your Snapchat account such as a privacy issue, time wastage or even sad social life.



Time to Backup Your Data Before Deletion

It is always good to backup your important data before you delete your Snapchat account. This data will have all your personal information like mobile number, email, and Snaps you have created in past. So, you can get all this data by an email in .zip format. Some of the basic information in this data is

  • Name
  • Username
  • Birthday
  • Mobile Number
  • Email (current)
  • Snapcode/Profile Picture
  • Payments
  • Snap Privacy Settings
  • Blocked Snapchatters
  • Snapcash Transactions
  • Memories
  • Login History
  • Chat History
  • Location History
  • Friends list

So these are the critical information that you should save before it gets permanently deleted from the Snapchat servers. So follow these steps to download your Snapchat data.

  1. First of all, Visit this Snapchat link and log in with your Username and Password
  2. Now, on the welcome page, click on “My Data” link
    backup snapchat data before deletion
  3. Click the “Submit request” button
  4. Snapchat may ask you to re-enter your “Password” to confirm again
    re-enter snapchat password before backup
  5. Finally, you will get an email of your data within a few hours of your request

How to Delete Your Snapchat Account

how to delete snapchat account

You have already learned to backup your Snapchat data. It’s highly recommended to wait for your backup data before you delete your account. Once, your account is deleted permanently; there is no chance to get back your data.

Follow these steps to delete your Snapchat account permanently.

  1. Visit this link and log in with your current Snapchat credentials
  2. Now, click on the “Delete My Account” button to begin the deletion process
    Snapchat account delete link
  3. On the next page, fill up a form using your Snapchat Username and Password to confirm
    snapchat confirm deletion
  4. Now Snapchat will take 30 days to remove your details from the servers
    snapchat account deletion notice
  5. After 30 days you will get a confirmation email that your account has been successfully deleted

So that is how you can get rid of your existing Snapchat account in a few simple steps. Now there is some confusion related to the deactivation and deletion of your Snapchat account.

What Will Happen If I Login Within 30 Days of Requesting Account Deletion?

Generally, after requesting account deletion, Snapchat will deactivate your account for 30 days. However, if you log in within these 30 days, your account will become active again.

Will My Messages Get Deleted Too?

Yes, after 30 days, all your messages will be deleted permanently, and you will not be able to reaccess them.

If I Delete My Snapchat App, Will It Remove Unopened Snaps?

Deleting or uninstalling your Snapchat app doesn’t actually deactivate or delete your account. So yes, all your unopened snaps will be available for your friends.


How to Know, If Someone has Deleted Thier Snapchat Account?

Search that person’s name and if you don’t see their name that means he/she has either deactivated, deleted or blocked you. Now, try searching the person again from other accounts, and if you see his/her name, that means your original account has been blocked. If you still don’t see his/her name, it means they have either deactivated or deleted their account. It this keep happening for 30 or more days, probably person’s account is deleted.

Can I Delete My Snapchat Account And Then Sign Back Again?

Now, there is no coming back after deleting your account. However, you can log in again after “deactivating” your account.

What Happens When I Delete Snapchat Permanently?

All your Snapchat memory, images, account details, privacy will be deleted from the Snapchat servers. No one can contact you because your profile will disappear from the search and your friends will see your name in lowercase letters.

If you have more questions to ask, ask them down below. Do share this post if it is informative to you.

More Recommended Topics:

Share this post